Another beginner questions on SDR

SDRPlay Independent Community Forum Forums General Another beginner questions on SDR

• This topic has 15 replies, 6 voices, and was last updated by .
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 16 total)
  • Author
    APT
    Participant

Hi,
      I am very new to radio and have noone around to ask. I guess others have gone through similar deal. I have no idea what I am doing except trying out things and this seems a very interesting hobby; Youtube, Google and various chat groups are my only source. I started with RTL-SDR and recently bought SDRPlay RSPdx device. Beyond listening to the basic FM channel broadcast, weather channel, or tracking plane I am not making much progress. There are tons of resources available and not sure how to navigate. Below seems very basic question, yet I am struggling. I am hoping you can be kind enough to help

General
      1) While scanning the frequency, I saw bunch of signals in SDRUno but I dont know how to decode it. Is there any way to detect the protocol i.e. to apply this is NFM, LSB, USB, .. DSD, ADS-B, All I see is a distinct signals but not sure what to make of it. Are there specific range to look for specific signals. Most of the frequency shared in web, does not work for me. Is this my antenna (I have Tram1411 antenna)

AM station
      2) Beyond few local stations, I am not able to pickup most of the AM station. Do I need specific antenna. What kind of AM antenna can work indoor. Should this be connected to BNC or SNA connector

DSDPlus
      3) I got SDRUno and DSDPlug interacting; i.e. I can see via virtual audio some logs on DSDAudio but I hear no sound. I think I am trying incorrect frequency; I dont even know what frequency to tune on SDRUno (I am in Austin, TX) to listen some digital sound. I downloaded the some XML files from radiorereference.com (dsdplus.sites) file and not sure the format to understand the frequency. For ex what does below mean in term of frequency and bandwidth